# LANGSTON UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE – REGULAR MEETING MEETING MINUTES April 02<sup>nd</sup>, 2015

# 1. Quorum and call to order

Dr. James Showalter, Chair, determined the quorum and called the meeting to order at 11:09 a.m.

Faculty Senate Members:		Attendance
Chair	James Showalter	Present
Chair-Elect	Elicia Pollard	Present
Secretary	Ahondju Umadjela Holmes	Present

## SENATORS

	Kate Corbett	Present		
Library	Jameka Lewis	<mark>Absent</mark>		
	Shirley Tatum	Present		
	Raymond Faucette	<mark>Absent</mark>		
School of Agriculture & Applied Sciences	Donna Foster	Present		
	Roger Merkel	Present		
School of Arts & Sciences	Betsy Showalter	Present		
	Edmund Kloh	<mark>Absent</mark>		
	Meshack Sagini	Present		
	Art Williams	<mark>Absent</mark>		
School of Education and Behavioral Sciences	Edward Manyibe	<mark>Absent</mark>		
	Orlenthea McGowan	Present		
	Yvonne Montgomery	Present		
	Andre Washington	Present		
School of Business	I-Lin Huang	Excused		
	Hossien Sarjeh-Payma	Present		
School of Nursing and Health Professions	Darlington Mundende	Excused		
	Lynnie Skeen	Present		
	Cassandra Eng (Non - Voting member)	Excused		
School of Physical Therapy	Philip George	<mark>Absent</mark>		
	Joanna Mann	Present		
At-Large Representatives	James Quinn	<mark>Absent</mark>		
	Angela Thomas	Present		

## 2. Approval of Agenda

Motion: Mrs. Kate Corbett moved to approve agenda. Motion carried. Unanimous.

# 3. Approval of Minutes of March 03<sup>rd</sup>, 2015

Motion: Dr. James Showalter moved to approve minutes. Motion carried. Unanimous.

4. Old Business: from Dr. James Showalter, Chair

Motion: To de facto seat At-Large Senators

The Faculty Senate realizes the necessity of holding elections for the three at-large Senators as noted in Article II, Section B ("Three [3] temporary non-tenure, probationary tenure track, or tenured faculty members will be elected at-large by the entire faculty.") and shall act expeditiously to get that election completed. Until that election, the three nominated faculty members will be considered interim at-large seated senators with the full rights and responsibilities of other Senators.

<u>Action:</u> After discussion and clarifications, Dr. Showalter proposed dropping the motion due to the possibility of sending an email to all faculty members about voting. This e-mail would allow members to openly vote. Dr. Elicia Pollard will send the e-mail. Motion dropped.

# 5. New Business: from Dr. James Showalter, Chair

Standing Committees	Selected Interim Chairs	Senator(s)	Comments
Academic Affairs	Dr. Andre Washington		Interim Chairs are responsible for: *Setting up a meeting with all Full-Time Faculty
Budget	Mrs. Angela Thomas	Dr. Hossien Sarjeh-Payma	members who will volunteer to serve in each
Faculty Welfare and Development	Dr. Yvonne Montgomery	Dr. Orlenthea McGowan	committee *Facilitate elections in order to vote for committees' chairs
Personnel Policies	Dr. Joanna Mann		*Deadline is April 30, 2015
Student Affairs	Mrs. Kate Corbett		
Elections	Dr. Meshack Sagini		

a. Establishing the core of Senate's standing committees and discussing issues:

#### Notes:

- ✓ Formed committees will discuss issues related to their functions and bring their suggestions to LU Faculty Senate.
  LU Faculty senate will, in turn, bring recommendations to the administration.
- ✓ There should be a minimum of at least 7 members in each committee.

## 6. Budget Advisory Committee update: from Dr. James Showalter, Chair

- ✓ 5% tuition increase.
- ✓ Students' non-payment affects the budget. Students owe approximately U.S. four (4) million.
- ✓ New State payment scheme is based on retention and graduation rates. This may lead to enrolling a different student clientele (middle class students)

## 7. Additions/New Interests or Concerns

- a. Faculty Senate on D2L from Mrs. Angela Thomas
  - ✓ Faculty Senate minutes, agendas, and discussion forums are available on D2L, under the designation **FS 1001**.
  - ✓ Faculty Senate members are included as students
  - ✓ Working on including all faculty members
- 8. Adjournment: 12: 15 p.m.

# Next meeting Thursday, May 07, 2015 at 11:00 a.m. at the Library (1<sup>st</sup> floor)

Ahondju Umadjela Holmes, Secretary