# LANGSTON UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE – REGULAR METING MEETING MINUTES February 03, 2015

#### 1. Determination of quorum and call to order

Dr. James Showalter, Chair, determined the quorum and called the meeting to order at 11:33 a.m.

				Attendance
Executive Committee				
	٠	Chair	James Showalter	Present
	٠	Chair-elect	Elicia Pollard	Present
	٠	Secretary	Ahondju Umadjela Holmes	Present
Representatives				
	٠	Library	Kate Corbett	Present
			Jameka Lewis	Present
			Shirley Tatum	Present
	School of Agriculture and Applied Sciences			
			Donna Foster	Excused
			Raymond Faucette	Present
			Roger Merkel	Present
	School of Arts and Sciences			
			Betsy Showalter	Present
			Edmund Kloh	Present
			Meshack Sagini	Present
			Art Williams	Present
	School of Education and Behavioral Sciences			
			Edward Manyibe	Present
			Orlenthea McGowan	Present
			Yvonne Montgomery	Present
			Andre Washington	Present
	School of Business			
			I-Lin Huang	Present
			Hossien Sarjeh-Payma	Present
	<ul> <li>School of Nursing and Health Professions</li> </ul>			
			Darlington Mundende	Present
			Lynnie Skeen	Present
			Cassandra Eng (Non-voting)	Absent
	٠	School of Physic	al Therapy	
			Philip George	Absent
	At-large Representatives			
			Angela Thomas	Present
			James Quinn	Present
			Joanna Mann	Present
2.	2. Approval of Agenda			

Motion: \_\_\_\_\_\_ moved to approve agenda. Motion carried. Unanimous.

#### 3. Approval of Minutes of January 16, 2015

Motion: \_\_\_\_\_\_ moved to approve minutes. Motion carried. Unanimous.

4. New Business: three motions from Dr. James Showalter, Chair

#### a. Motion 1

For the purposes of the election held for Faculty Senators in the Fall of 2014, the clause in Article II, Section A, that reads, "Appointed administrative personnel with faculty rank are not eligible for election to the LUFS," shall be

interpreted, as it was when the election was held, to exclusively apply to chairs of faculty departments. In the Library this exclusion would apply only to the Director of the Libraries, Ms. Betty Black.

There was a very active debate on motion 1. \_\_\_\_\_ moved to approve. Motion carried. Number of people, who voted for the motion: 12; against: 1; abstained from voting: 10.

Request to be recorder as "strongly oppose": Dr. Joanna Mann, At-large Representative

Dr. Joanna Mann strongly opposed senators voting on the decision to revise the bylaws so that senators who indicate that they were administrators in titles only would be allowed to remain as representatives. She asked that the minutes reflect that her objection was centered on the belief that only senior university administration in human resources and academic affairs could define which posts include administrative responsibilities and that on the basis that some elected senators claimed to be none administrators (with titles only) that chairs might express similar concerns and desire to be eligible to serve. And, in that event, the entire voting for senators would need to be re-opened. She also indicated that if the elected senators were allowed to make that kind of critical change, then the matter should be sent through a university process (including the general faculty) that would eventually be required to be approved by University legal counsel and the Regents.

Motion 2 and 3 were not discussed due to time constraints

## b. Motion 2

To ensure open discussion in the Faculty Senate, all written correspondence of Senators discussing Senate business among themselves outside of scheduled Faculty Senate meetings shall be privileged: in particular that shall mean that such discussions among Senators on Senate business is not to be disclosed to administrators. Minutes of the Faculty Senate and Bills of that organization are not included in this and will be completely open to the public.

## c. Motion 3

The Faculty Senate realizes the necessity of holding an election for the three at-large Senators as noted in Article II, Section B ("Three (3) temporary non-tenure, probationary tenure track, or tenured faculty members will be elected atlarge by the entire faculty.") and shall act expediently to get that election completed. Until that election, the three nominated faculty members will be considered interim at-large seated senators with the full rights and responsibilities of other Senators.

### 5. Adjournment: 12: 33 p.m.

Next meeting Tuesday, March 03, 2015.

Ahondju Umadjela Holmes, Secretary